top of page
  • Writer's pictureBloomfield College Underground

Two Poems from Tariq McKenith

I'm Tired


I just want to start by saying it actually takes a lot to get under my skin, but...

I'm tired


I'm tired of people that just do too much.

People who become a completely different person when the lights come on

Or when others come around.

Who always have to be seen no matter what.

Just sit there and eat your food sometimes.


I'm tired of the Kevin Harts and Floyd Mayweathers when girls come around.

No, I don't want to slap-box

and you're not even funny.

And she still doesn’t want you.


I'm tired of homework.

It's a complete waste of time.

If I don't understand in class what makes you think I'll understand it when I get home.

I don't want to have class, a full 2-3-hour practice, and then still have to do homework after.


I'm tired of people telling me to talk.

I speak when I need to and can actually hold a great conversation.

Maybe I just want to observe really quick.


At this point I'm just tired of being tired.

Maybe Snickers slogan should be "you're not you when you're tired"

Because I know I'm not.

And I'm definitely better after rest.


It's a lot more things that I'm tired of but we'll be here all day.




 


Route 25: Springfield Avenue


Another day another $1.60.

More attitudes and counterfeit bus cards.

More people yelling “Back Door!”

And I have the shift that’s right when school gets out.


It’s raining today,

It’s about to smell like wet dog and pennies.

Forget it I’m riding pass the school stops because that’s too many kids.

And today is not the day.


I don’t wait for no one.

So a lot of people become Usain, bolting for this bus.

Just be there when I got there,

I have a schedule if you need one.


Don’t have your bus fare?

get off.

I know the money is not going in my pocket

But some should be coming out of yours.


If my bus is already crowded, I’m riding pass you.

Curse at the bus all you want.

Need my bus number to report me? It should be on the back of the bus

Take a look at it as I ride pass while you wait for the next one


Is it 12:00 yet?

I need to get off because this job isn’t for me no more

Well it never really was, I just needed the money

It’s just too many people to deal with anyway

Once I get off, I quit.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


bottom of page