top of page
  • Writer's pictureBloomfield College Underground

'The Big X' by Devon Hood

The Big X


Look at that BIG X

No I don’t mean finding treasure

Land Ho, more like damn hoe

I shouldn’t call you that I was also a damn hoe

Building farmland for us

Plotting the seeds

You gave the water to grow

FAMILY

But now we feel more like enemies

No we can’t be frenemies

Stop trying to be friends with your enemies

This isn’t WWE

I feel so attached to you like a flea and your blood is a disease

I’m feeling powerless like a phone at 1% and my charger is across the room.

I just want to get away to put my heart at ease

Every time I run towards you

Every time I think of you

I start to wheeze

Not like an allergy

I don’t have asthma

Our memories doesn’t allow me to breathe

My heart breaking

My body’s shaking

A sickness awaking

Your cold weather

I have no covers

You were my covers

You wasn't just a person

You was like my mother

You took care of me

You didn’t have to but you had too

Because you loved to

I broke that promise where I said I wish away all your pain

I was your Cosmo and you was my Wanda

Timmy still couldn’t wish away our shame

Constant regret where you scream my name

So loud like police sirens wailing loudly to get people to move.

Except I was the one you was trying to move out the way.

Just you could move in a new guy too.

There was no counter claim

You always had to win the game.

Matter of fact you made the rules you made the game.

Saying turn the ship the treasures the other way

You’re not following my X you’re following your x you can’t follow that X

But why can’t I follow that x there’s more than one x

But why do you want to chase that X!

God damn stop screaming

I want to rip up this map and start over

But it’s glued to my chest

Tattooed and has me bent over

Pause

Boomerang so every time I throw myself away I come back around

And remember your pain.

But I will be better now

Because they told me never look at that X on the map and say

There’s only one X!

Cause there’s more treasure.

Just like every team that loses from the NY Giants

To the 0-16 Browns, To the LA Clippers

Or games like Call of Duty, Battlefield, Star Wars, and Fallout.

They know that next year is a New Year to get it right.

So if that X was the only X why did I find a new map?

And find a better x

I opened the treasure, the gold shone before me

Like shoes after you polished em with pleasure

Or maybe

A nice round booty

After you rubbed that Vaseline on with a nasty gesture.

I opened the treasure

Learned to stop saying land ho and start saying damn bro

Telling my friends about this new x and not the old X

There was a treasure I found at the new x

So now I’m not going

Look at that Big X

I’m saying look at that new x...

15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

ความคิดเห็น


bottom of page