top of page
  • Writer's pictureBloomfield College Underground

'D.N.A.' by Jaynee Thompson


D.N.A.


I Got Power


I Got Pain


and Ambition flowing through my…


D.N.A.

My Pedigree don’t tolerate….


The front


I’m not the coolest monkey

In the jungle…

Swinging on vines

Hanging from trees

Sitting back eating bananas

Waiting to entertain


With all the

Brains

Beauty

And…

Boldness

Trying to confine me into society

And all my capability

Telling me that I’m a


Worthless

Useless

Piece of shit.


That won’t amount shit.


Your words are formed to break me!

Hands to the Heavens, no man, no weapon Formed against,

Like that whip that slapped against.

My brotha’s and sista’s backs a long time ago.

Tearing, breaking, and bruising their skin.

Shaming them.


Because you are scared of

As you say, us Monkeys


Being Free from

Your


Abusiveness

Controlment

Degradement

Embarrassment


Sins that go against our skin become blessings

The movement is a rhythm to us

Freedom is like religion to us Justice for all just ain't specific enough




 


Hi Everyone! my name is Jaynee Thompson. I am currently a sophomore who’s major is Education for grades K-6 with a concentration in English. A quirky fact about me is that I am a major foodie who finds it hard to decide between different dishes to eat (lol). However, the reason why I create poetry is because it helps me to speak my inner thoughts that I am unable to say out loud sometimes. On the other hand, poetry is a hobby that allows me to tell deep and emotional to stories to my readers. Lastly, from the bottom of my heart I would like to thank friends, family, and supporters for coming out and supporting me.

23 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page