top of page
  • Writer's pictureBloomfield College Underground

Two Poems from Gerardo Salas

Cocaina


The blood of my forced labor,

The pristine white snow that never falls,

The red of my pained heart,


You keep taking and taking,

but still…

You keep me craving.


Your power and your wealth suppresses,

we talk out and you silence us.

We can’t get away from you.

Your sick addiction will follow us,

no matter where we try to go.


Your pristine pureness makes us blind and greedy.

You make me turn on my brothers and sisters.

All of it for what?

Another taste of your wickedness?


Your damnation has tainted the very soil,

the soil that we planted you in,

the soil that helped nurture you.

We grew you and you turned your back on us.

There’s nothing left for you to take anymore,

Our pride, our hope, our lives.

All of it taken away.


The more we try to make you leave,

the more you stay.

The more we burn you down like a weed,

the more you make our country bleed.








 

Preconceived Notions


Our senses tell us about the world around us.

When we see something, something different,

we know we don’t know everything.


If that’s really the case,

then why do you think,

Why the fuck do you think you can tell me who I really am?


The color of my skin and the curls in my hair are mine,

They’re mine to worry about and they’re mine to be proud of


I can’t walk down the street

without you clutching your purse,

without you walking away,

Without walking away faster, faster, and faster,

Running like you fear for your life.

Don’t you stop to think?

Don’t you ever stop to think about how this makes me feel?

Because believe it or not, I’m a person,

Just like you.


The people that really know me,

they know I wouldn’t ever hurt anyone,

that any pain I cause is unintentional,

that I’m not a danger, that I’m just a person.


After all,

How dangerous can I be?

When all I want is to be treated like a person,

like someone you can actually see.


I don’t want your preconceived notions,

to bury me under what you want me to be.

Just please let me be.





2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page