top of page

Three Poems from Azmar Kemp

To Us

Let’s have a cheer!

A cheers to us.

A cheers to the memories that you left behind;

To the won battles behind your smile.

Cancer was no match for your pride.

They say it’s always harder the second time round to survive.

But the true victory was in your eyes.

Being faithful, confident,

And loving me effortless.

Was a beauty to witness.

To never saying no to me,

And always being there for me..

Even when I wasn’t there for myself.

A cheers for giving me my first drink;

Even though I was only 16.

That Arbors mist took us to a new level,

I knew that I could trust you with anything.

A cheers for spending every Christmas with me,

From our carols to setting the Christmas tree.

For always telling me that everything would be okay,

while reminding me of better days.

And always promising me that the pain would go away,

Not realizing that the most painful thing is not being able to see your face.

Though your smiles I cannot forget

Every precious moment that we lived

Your friendship was my best gift

And though, our moments will be missed

Let’s have a final cheers

To us,

Someday, meeting again




 

Just Like You by Azmar Kemp

It’s funny how I grew up wanting to be just like you

How I wanted to be cool… just like you

How I want to stay out late… just like you

And turn up before and after the weekends.. just like you

It’s funny how I wanted to wear the same clothes as you

You know, the baggy sweatpants with the Tim’s and bandana to match?

I wanted to run the streets like you

And be brought home by the cops, just to impress you

And have bad friends… just like you

I always thought it was cool how you got into fights and ran the streets

But, somewhere between reality and your jailtime, I realized that I’m not you

I want to be successful

I want to come home early and relax

And see interesting things on the weekend

Concerts, vacations, seeing the world and finding motivations

I want to have a closet full of suits

I want to run a business

And make six figures,

So what if the cops don’t bring me home

You see, I have friends that find me cool

Friends that want to live their lives instead of spending it behind bars,

In cop cars, or somewhere lost

Lost in space and fear, trying to find yourself

But the actions that you’ve done..

Doesn’t just disappears

It’s so fascinating.. that after all these years..

Now you tell me.. You wish you could be just like me

Get an education.. just like me

Get a job.. just like me

And follow your dreams, like me

Somewhere in time we lost ourselves chasing each other..

And you just never found your way back..

Still, I’d do anything to take your place and give you a better chance in life

Its so funny how in the end, because your my closest friend, I’d give you that chance..

Yes…

To make your life better, in hopes that you’d change forever

If God granted your wish,

For us to switch,

I’d be,

Just like you.




 



 



2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page