top of page
  • Writer's pictureBloomfield College Underground

Three Poems from Anonymous

Updated: Apr 28, 2019

Swimming with the Sharks


7:03 – Babe I’m on my way, don’t take forever

7:05 – Almost ready

7:26- Here babe


7:28- I grab my purse and slip on my heels.

They clank on the stairs as I hurry to the car,

The cold air clinging to my straightened hair

And glossed lips


“You look beautiful tonight”

“Thank you,” I respond,

peering out the window

Act normal

He doesn’t know that you know

9:41- We walk out of the restaurant

hand in hand

I kiss his cheek,

He knows I want his body tonight

I grab the keys,

“I’ll drive” I tell him


9:43- We get in the car,

me in the driver’s seat,

him passenger.

I act like I’m starting the car,

But I toss the keys in the back

Take control,

He’ll like it

He’ll never expect it

9:44- I grab his shoulders and

force my mouth on his

licking, sucking, nibbling

rubbing my hands along his chest,

like I’m searching for his heart

If he had a heart, he wouldn’t have hurt you

9:46- I guide my hands down his body to his pants

he helps my hands quickly

unbutton

unzipper

take off

It’s dark now

There’s no one around,

There’s not much time

9:47- I dive in immediately,

straight to the deep end,

I want to touch the bottom

Of the pool on the first dive

He moans and grabs the back of my head


I decide to change it up,

Glide my tongue up and down, around


I climb up the ladder

And out of the pool for a second dive.


Grinning with my teeth,

I sink to the bottom

Like I’m going to show the floor of the pool my smile,

He’s wincing,

He likes the danger

It’s time

9:53- I sink my teeth in a little harder

he gasps

like he’s seen a shark

he tries to get out of the pool

but it’s sucking him in

“What the hell are you do- AHHH!”

My teeth touch,

I taste the blood on my tongue

I hear his screams and laugh.


9:54- I hold it up with one hand and grab his throat with the other


“How are you going to go diving with her if you don’t have a fin?”



 



Sticky


Sticky things get stuck

Like when I was little

And using that sticky Elmer’s glue stick that

Would just stick things together

Until they were stuck

But were they stuck?

Am I stuck?


Sometimes I feel stuck when I’m lying in my bed

Sticking to the sheets like my papier-mache project

I feel like I’m holding together, sticking to my bed and keeping my thoughts in a line of perfectly lain glue on construction paper

And then the glue dries…


Maybe I am just stuck-

Stuck in my head

in my thoughts

in my mistakes

In the same sticky routine.


Can you unstick?


And what about that time

When I was walking and saw

That guy I didn’t want to see and

He tried to

Flirt with me

and I got stuck


Because sticky situations are sticky and will stick you

Like glue until you’re stuck.


And when you’re stuck like that

Don’t you just want to stick yourself back in your sticky bed and get stuck?


Stuck is safe,

until the glue won’t hold anymore.


 



The Mother You Used to Be


It wasn’t until I was about eleven that I realized


She was different.

Yeah, I knew she was older than

the other mothers,

but my Mom Should have been there to do more.


Remember when we used to go camping?


“I can’t do that anymore.”


Remember when we spent hours hiking?


“I can’t even hike up the stairs.”


Remember when we would go window shopping together?


“That’s too much walking for me.”


All the girls at school are going on a trip with their mothers…


“You know I can’t do that.”


Remember when you were a mother to me?

When you taught me

To cook and clean and do the wash?


Remember when you

Took care of me?

Spent time with me?


“Can you help me clean the bathroom?”

“Can you get the phone for me?”

“Can you go to the store for me?”

“Can you get me an ice pack?”

“Can you give me a ride to the doctor?”

“Can you grab my walker?”

“Can you push my wheelchair?”


Can you be the mother you used to be?

17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page