top of page
  • Writer's pictureBloomfield College Underground

Two Poems by Osama Saad El-Din

Updated: Apr 27, 2019

Poetry


Bam!

The first stanza hits me

Another speeding stanza steering

straight at me—

I brace myself


Bam!

This time I'm floored

How?

I'm not a poem person

Poem person?

Poetry pupil?

Poet?

I don't even know what to call it

Do they even have a name?

For people who get

Floored with words?

I don't know

I don't care

It's not me

Nothing really hits me

So how did words hit me?

That's all they are

Just words


Before I know it

I'm mowed down again

Well fuck,

I'm embarrassed

I feel eyes

On the back of my head

I'm not supposed to be

Moved by this

I'm a tough guy

right?

Tough guys don't feel words

That's what I was told

Has to be true

How tough are you?

You're not Salty Spitoon tough

If you get

Hit with words


I look around the class,

All the other “tough guys”

Are in worse shape than me

What?

How?

How do words

Hit that hard?

They're words on a screen

Nothing else

Not even

They're really just letters

Arranged in different ways

If you think about it,

That's all they are

If you think about it

Did I think about it?

I guess not

I just felt it

But why?

Why did I feel it?

Do I want to know?

Should I just ignore it

Like everything else that requires

Some form of emotion

No.

Nope.

Nah.

I'm done ignoring myself

I'll do some research

See what's up


“Through my research”

Is how I start most essays

Best believe I ain't ever

Do any research

But this time I did


I really did!

Through my research,

I found her. . .

The single most calming,

Soothing thing

I've ever known. . .


Words.


I've known them forever

But not really

Kinda like finding a new chill spot

In your hometown


Was it always there?

Did someone just make it?


I don't know—

I don't care

I found it

I can make it mine,

I can run to it

I can manipulate it

I can use it to

Hit other people—

But not the ouch kind of hit,

The hit you secretly enjoy

But can't tell anyone

Because you'd be a weirdo.


There's a name for it;

Not words

Not poem person

Not poetry pupil


It's just poetry

I just like poetry


I love poetry. . .

And I think she loves me.







 




What Do You See?


When you ask who Kaepernick is—

It's the guy who kneeled!

When you ask why he kneeled. . .







That's all you get

Just a blank space

A white space of nothing

Like a kid's face when they're caught watching the window

He knows he shouldn't be watching the window

Because he's not paying attention

But he's exiled the world around him without a care

And focused on the window, where his thoughts are the only things that matter

No matter what is happening around him, he's still watching that window

All alone with his thoughts


You see, it's the same phenomena

Ask why Kaepernick kneeled

And you'll get that blank space

That blank space comes from watching everything that's happening

And just turning your head to the window

Deciding what's happening is not worth your attention

Deciding you'd rather be alone with your own thoughts than bothered by somebody else's

Now ask why he shouldn't kneel:






It's disrespectful!

It's against American values!

He gets paid to play football!

It's against our military!




Getting choked out by a DT for loose cigarettes isn't disrespectful

The Nazi Rally wasn't against American values

The police don't get paid to protect and serve

Our military fought for a flag

Not for our right to protest

Right?

I get it


I got it as soon as our president called White Supremacist Nazis

Fine people

I got it as soon as the same man called football players protesting

Sons of bitches


They tell us to protest another way

We've tried that


We got killed for that.

We got hosed down for that.

We got arrested for that.


You know what insanity is? Doing the same thing over and over

Expecting different results


We've been protesting for hundreds of years

HUNDREDS OF YEARS

Where did that get us?


I still get called a sand nigger every other day

I still can't put Osama on my resume if I want them to look at it

I still get scared when a cop looks at me with my hands in my pockets

I still have to fight twice as hard academically, physically, mentally,

And whatever-lly

Just to have a fair chance






So, if you ask me if I have a problem with kneeling

Fuck no, I don't

I have a problem that you're asking me that

You're not asking about the message behind it

You're not asking why we're kneeling

You're not asking how we've been pushed to this point

You're not asking how to make it better


I don't have problem with kneeling

Because after and before the kneeling


I'm still a sand nigger

I'm still a terrorist

I'm still a little black-ish thug with a gap tooth

And nappy hair


None of that changes

Standing upright won't change that

Kneeling won't change that

But kneeling exposes that

Kneeling forces you to stop staring at the fucking window and look at what's going on.


3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page