top of page
  • Writer's pictureBloomfield College Underground

'My Mother's Hands' by Maryum Abdul-Hamid

MY MOTHER'S HANDS


My mother always told me that you can tell a woman's age by her hands

But what she did not mention is that our hands tell a story

My mother's hands have melted shea butter into my skin

Almost as if she saw the potential in her masterpiece

Her hands have washed the recess from our shirts when all we had was each other

Her hands have cooked, cleaned and wiped the sweat from her face in frustration

Of raising children by a man that would never face his past

Her hands have blessed the heads of women

and held secrets even their husbands don't know

Her hands have reprimanded me and tucked me in at night

Never letting me know how strong she would have to be

Those hands have pulled me from fights

Attempted to guide me to what's right

And if I ever wanted to do anything wrong,

I would think of those hands covering your face in disappointment

My mother's hands have hammered prayers on the walls of her salon

Hoping that at the end of the day she would be able to feed her children

Her hands have fixed the last tie her son will ever wear

with the hope that he will be pleased with her choices

But it's her eyes,

Like something is missing

That glisten stopped shimmering

The song in her eyes has turned into fatal piano music

And I can't help but to wish that I was the pianist

I wish that I had a car because then the distance in your eyes wouldn't seem so far

I wish that I was back in your womb so that I could fill

that hole in your heart with all of my love

I wish that I could be in your head so I could fight off every doubt you've ever had

I wish that I could be you

For every time that you have sacrificed anything for me

And just know that if your hands ever stop working like they used to,

I will melt shea butter into your skin

Because our bodies are temples, but you are a monument

Frozen in history as the flyest woman I’ve ever met

And if the day comes that I call your name and you don't answer,

Save me a place next to you because we've never been that far apart

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page