top of page
  • Writer's pictureBloomfield College Underground

'My Hero' by Carmen Prieto Sanabria

My Hero


I wish I could remember the first time we met

the first time you held me in your hands

I was told it was a magical moment.

Mom says your eyes reflected happiness

is it true? I like to think so.

But you know what I do remember?

I have this amazing memory of waiting

for you to come home from work every day.

If I close my eyes,

I can feel your masculine hands

lifting me up in the air

making me think I could fly.

I still remember the smell

of chalk coming from your hands.

It made me admire your job

and see you as a hero that cared for many people.


I was able make other girls jealous

because I could fly

because your hands gave me the power

to become Supergirl


So many beautiful memories

but there’s one I want to erase forever

I don’t want to remember that awful day,

when I followed a path of blood

that was leading me to you.

I ran towards you

while my mom screamed for help.

I tried to get to you

but my legs were shaking,

and I could not reach you

No one told me what happened,

everyone thought I could not understand

at such a young age.


So I cried

until my lacrimal gland was completely dry.

Simultaneously, my soul escape from my body

and went up to the sky

desperately looking for God,

asking him to take care of you.

I don’t want to remember the next day

when I saw you in a hospital bed,

your hand destroyed,

and sadness living in your eyes.

At first, I blamed myself

after all, you only wanted to show me

how to be brave.


I swore to hate him for doing you this,

for taking away the perfection of your hands,

but mostly for all the times you couldn’t hold me

and make me fly again.


After the nightmare was over

(or at least we learned to live with it)

the smell in your hands changed.

Oh, how much did I love the smell of wood

coming from your now changed hands.

Even if I was too grown to be held up by you,

I enjoyed helping you build furniture.

I remember how magnificent it was

to look at you give your best

without complaining

or saying it was painful

even if the pain was reflected in your eyes.

I thought to myself

“this guy is really a hero!”


So many years since we built rocking chairs together.

Now the smell of grease mixed with diesel

emanates from your hands.

Your nails have been covered in black for many years.

All of that so that

I can not only dream

but reach my dreams,

no matter how far I need to go.


Your hands

always strong, even in the moments of weakness.

Your hands

were my first safe place in this world.

Your hands

work hard every day to make sure I’m okay.

Your hands

are what makes you my Hero.



 


Carmen Prieto
I was born in a small town in Cuba, and lived there for 16 years. Growing up I had a strong passion for science, which is why I am a Chemistry major. I spent most of my childhood reading my father’s books and coming up with stories that I replayed over and over in my mind. It wasn’t until my creative writing course at Bloomfield College that I put some of those stories into paper, and allowed people to read them (mostly because my grade depended on it). I love writing because I get to put a piece of myself in each poem or story, and because even in my native language I find writing easier than talking. I simply feel free when I write. I enjoy other things like listening to science related music, being in the chemistry lab, cooking and spending time with Max, my gorgeous fur baby.
1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

コメント


bottom of page