top of page
  • Writer's pictureBloomfield College Underground

'I SAID I COME FROM NEWARK' by Jacqueline Ransdell

I SAID I COME FROM NEWARK


Where selling drugs are sold openly

"I got perks, xanz, molly, weed I got what you need!!"

Where we sit back and watch the shit

Like a Gotti show.


I SAID I COME FROM NEWARK


They expect us to pick up a ball

Fuck the books

Now they saying you a crook

No record

Just another Nigger.

I SAID I COME FROM NEWARK


Where pregnancy is in the air

Young girls picking up diseases

Fuck happened to teddy bears

Do you see what I see?

More baby showers than graduations

Coming from Newark

Where Muslims still eat pork

Not speaking bad about my city but like


I SAID I COME FROM NEWARK


MAKING IT TO 18 IS A BLESSING

Youngins having a heart

That never been tested

These youngins all talk

See em’ in the park, shit'll get dark


I SAID I COME FROM NEWARK


Where a mother buries her child before her time

Trying not to stay in the wild

Shit gets wild

Sad case

Her son got killed over a mild


I SAID I COME FROM NEWARK


They try to label us

They don’t see what I see

Come take a walk in the hood

I'll show you the greater good


I SAID I COME FROM NEWARK


And I ain't ashamed. PEACE.

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page