top of page
  • Writer's pictureBloomfield College Underground

'Forehead' by Jarelle Thomas

Forehead


I got a big ass forehead

Let’s be honest, it’s true

Its imposing and huge and takes up too much space

It’s like my auntie staying over for a few days

Sometimes I wish it was smaller

And follow Charmin’s motto,

That less is more

Sometimes I wish it would go away

Like auntie after her and her man stop arguing

But it stores all my secrets

It keeps inventory on all my ideas

And it notes all my knowledge

A bank has a vault, doesn’t it?

A really big vault.

Full of all the money,

gold bars,

and riches a man could want

No one gets upset about a big vault,

Cause it stashes the cash

It stores that which is valuable

My forehead should make me feel powerful

For it is big and strong,

I can’t deny that I try to hide it

And sometimes I wonder why it has to stay

It adds nothing to my self esteem

But then I think

No one wishes their vault away

So why should I wish that on mine?

I love my big ass forehead

It may be imposing,

it may be huge,

it may take up too much space,

but,

It still stores all my secrets

It still keeps inventory of all my ideas

It still notes all my knowledge

My dome is my home

It’s where all my thoughts roam

It's my vault

A really big vault

And no one gets upset about a big vault

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page