top of page
  • Writer's pictureBloomfield College Underground

Five Poems from Shaun Andrews, aka 'When a Black Man Speaks'

Updated: Apr 28, 2019

Corny Poem


Dang Ma,


Are you a transformer because you remind me of Optimus fine-Oh


And are those goddess braids because you look like an angel,


You look good from every angle,


You must run track,


The way you make my mind race and never look back,


Please tell me you have a map,


Cause I could get lost in those eyes,


Don’t be surprised,


You’re an angel disguised,


Your name has to be google,


Because you’re everything I’ve been searching for,


Because I saw you and my padlocked heart suddenly became an open door,


No- I am not an organ donor,


But I’d be more than happy to give you my heart,


You are like light in the dark,


Or a breath of fresh air,


I never thought I could breathe this much until I saw you and gasped,


Chest grasped,


And now I think I may need a band-aid,


Because I saw you and fell…





 

Tats


I got tattoos in secret places,


Bruises in places you can’t see,


Scars in places you can’t even touch,


They say words can’t hurt me,


But words stick to mind imprinted like ink,


Keeps me up when I think,


Of everything you see as perfect I couldn’t be,


Making me want to change every bit of imperfection,


But you can’t erase a mistake in ink,


Probably because it’s just meant to be there,


Every scar wound black lined,


Delicately engraved into skin,


Labeled ugly,


Yet every molecule is what makes you “you”


So I reveal the tattoo,


Because in every mistake there is beauty,


And my mistakes (although permanent) are just fine the way they are.





 


My Place


My place is no place,

My place is misfortune,

My place is depression,

My place is my bed,

My place is laid up in a pillow with recollection of my day,

My place is tear soaked blankets ‘cause I cried at every hurtful thing people would say,

My place is home—and home should be safe but home is not,

My place makes my stomach churn in knots,

My place is pain—my place is lonely as a boy with an ankle sprain,

My place is antidepressants flowing down my drain,

My place is my mind at 12 o’clock,

Slowly slipping as my hand grips tighter on my father's glock,

My place is pain and blood-soaked tears,

My place is my room neighboring my father’s—full of empty beers,

My place is stress,

My place has not been cleaned since mom died so my place is a mess,

My place is a sleepless night-

Where being awoken from slumber is the nightmare,

My place is my bed where coldish warm sheets hug scars for comfort,

My place is a broken home—broken like an old mirror,

It may not look broken but try to fix it and it's more broken then as it would appear,

My place is fear

My place is depression that leads me to my bed,

Because I feel safer in my bed,

My place is a shelter behind locked doors,

My place is blood-stained floors,

My place is a rusty razor on my nightstand,

My place is suicidal thoughts from a rape that was supposed to be a one-night stand,

My place is dark,

And I’m scared of the dark.




 



Corrupted Society



Today it's a challenge to live by a standard,


I thought I looked fine but society corrects my mirror,

Anxiety to appear,

As imperfect,

Becomes a fear,

Society shuns my tears,


Society drives me crazy,


Society said it was ok to judge,


Today for breakfast I choked down shame,

And washed it down with a side of pain,


Society said not to be myself,

Said anything else is better,

Said be like them,


Society!

Them is a crowd that digs their own graves,

Loses all moral ways,

Until they are not the same,


They are puppets for a game,

With humanity drilled out their brain,

But society whispers follow them anyway,


Society becomes the devil on my shoulder,

Saying show no remorse,

And tries to flush out my voice,


With muzzle and the chains,


Till I am just a hollow prisoner here,


Society whispers you aren't unique,

Society is constant critique,

And a fire starter,


Society!


You can't have me!






 



The Black Joke



Black man walking down street at 3am,

Blue and red lights flash,


And now I’m scared because that gasp might just be my last,

They say respect authority,


How can you teach the black kids to respect a figure that may make their lives end,


A figure that should serve and protect but those words are just pretend,


A black boy with an Arizona can is portrayed as a thug with a weapon,


And cops claim they shoot because they need protection,


The black joke is that we are criminals without ever having committed a crime,


The black joke is being at the wrong place at the wrong time,


The black joke is a trigger-happy cop getting away with another murder,


The black joke is that even after this poem nothing will change,


The black joke is Eric Garner, Trayvon Martin, Sandra Bland the list goes on and on,


The black joke is even after the poem that list will continue to expand,


The black joke is saying get over it,


All lives matter and Blue lives matter,


But the black joke is that black lives don’t,


The black joke is Donald Trump,


A racist crazed with power,


A fist of fire,


He doesn’t care who he burns,


The black joke is cops shoot with intent to kill,


The black joke is to instill fear,


The black joke was to make us believe we were free,


The black joke is that there is still slavery,


The black joke is there is no punchline,


Just another young black man or women killed off,


Another stereotype, N word, lynching, wrongfully incarceration


However despite the circumstance, I refuse to let the black joke kill me off.




 

About me;

My name is Shaun Kindrick Andrews Jr, formerly known as ”Probdakid" and "When A Black Man Speaks". I am a slam poet and music artist from Plainfield NJ. The reason I started writing is because at first I saw it as a creative outlet to help with issues. However I found poetry and words to be a powerful tool on the topic of helping people. I put myself in people place in my poetry and try to establish a connection with my readers or listeners because word have to power to make someone’s day and change someone’s mood who may be going through. I plan to use my gifts and that power of word to help people and show the world I’m here and I’m not afraid to speak or stand by what’s right


0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page