top of page
  • Writer's pictureBloomfield College Underground

'Fathers and Sons' by Lisa Richlan

Fathers & Sons


As I listen to this song it reminds me of you,

That special way you were and the things you used to do, Suddenly I am transported back to a time of yesteryear, When there were no problems, or worries a total lack of fear,

My heart trust in you my father, said the son in his special way, To do the things you’d want me to, make you proud of me some day,


In this crazy world we live in it’s easy to get lost,

To major on the minor things and forget to count the cost, But when I hear that special song your face appears to me, And once again I feel okay and clearly I can see,

I can almost hear your voice speaking like it did from long ago, And a silent look or smile you gave that set my heart aglow,


If you follow your heart like you did from the start and don’t let it slip away, You will find happiness and be successful every night and every day,

And don’t forget the little things, try to have some fun, These words I speak now to you, says the Father to the son




 


Lisa Richlan has been with Bloomfield College for 19 years, currently working as the Program Coordinator for Corporate programs at the Office of International Programs and Professional Studies. She has always loved the arts, music, photography, and films, but writing has always been her passion. The inspiration for Lisa’s poems come from her deep faith and personal relationship with Jesus. As she ponders nature or a particular topic, the words come to her and a poem emerges. Her favorite part of writing is how a simple line can transport one to a place of healing or a feeling long forgotten. She loves how powerful words are. Lisa grew up in Bloomfield, lives in Clifton, NJ with her husband of 21 years and her dachshund, Daphne.
2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


bottom of page