top of page
  • Writer's pictureBloomfield College Underground

'Fast Food Blues' by Anaijha Williams

Fast Food Blues


Your slogan is “I’m lovin’ it” but…

Your actions do not make me feel this way

Did I do something wrong?

To make you only give me one flimsy napkin when I purchase more than one order

Or when I ask for Sweet N’ Sour sauce. . .you give me Barbecue.


Why?

What was the point of asking me what I wanted,

If you were just going to give me what you wanted


Speaking of sauce…

Sometimes I order a 10 piece,

Sometimes I order a 20 piece

No matter the nugget count,

WHY IS THERE ONLY ONE SAUCE IN THE BAG?


Shout out to one of your locations on W. Market…

For telling me that if I wanted another sauce,

I would have to pay an extra 75 cents


I always ask for a lemon with my sweet tea

And I never get it,

And you always have an attitude when I ask you to put the lemon in the cup

Is the slice of lemon that’s going in my cup coming out of your paycheck?


The list goes on and on

I don’t want to give our relationship up, I know we can fix this

I don’t want to spend my time and money with anyone else because

You are everywhere, so I cannot avoid you

Even if I wanted to leave the country,

Your beautiful golden arch will still find me


I hope you get yourself together real soon

So when They ask if “I’m loving it,” I can say “I do”. . .


I don't have to say your name, you know who you are. . .

No tea, no shade, just how I feel about your performance thus far

I hope that in the future things will change

And I pray you do, because right now you are the only thing in my price range

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page