top of page
  • Writer's pictureBloomfield College Underground

'CLAWS' by Nyasia Smith


I have a question – How come

Y’all try so hard to misspell my name


Keratin ?

Kolonic ?

Karrot Top ?

Krispy Kreme ?


That’s so lameeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee


How come

When I decide to flash a little flesh

Post a picture in my favorite two-piece

Or a freakum dress

A cheeky bikini

Or maybe even a slight “ Thirst Trap”

I get

Bombarded with backlash ?


Or

Paraded by the PLASTICS ?


PRAYING on their want to enhance their body

While PREYING on the need to validate my body

The fastest way to do so, is to hate mines


the “MIRACLE WATTS”

the “BERNICE BERGOS”

the “JODIE JOES”


You know

All the social media HYPEBEASTS


I SWEAR


SOCIAL MEDIA is as divided on the issue of body shaming, just as my thighs.

No one is good enough unless they have “DECENT” thighs


RALO – THAT RAPPER WHOSE MADE MORE OF A CAREER DISSING OTHERS

INSTEAD OF MAKING MUSIC

Made a comment:

“YOU LOOK BETTER WITH CLOTHES ON!”


You can’t be serious!

“You shame natural bodies but praise fake ones?”

L

O

L


You are so use to those BUILD A BODY BROADS

The AL NATURAL is so looked down upon

The actual biology of my body is too real for you

I do not apologize for my body

You chose to GROW OUT

While I chose to GROW IN


MY BODY is not FLATTERING?

I’m not HIS type?


I’m not YOUR type?

Every day I have to find my own worth,

Stand in front of my mirror


But see my mirror is distorted—

So distorted

That all I see is the flaws


PLEASE

Realize that my body is my protection

NOT my DEFINITION


PLEASE

Realize that I am sweet despite your violent tongue,

The tongue that tries to break down my anatomy


STOP POINTING OUT

the ARCH in my back is non-existent

or the roundness of my BUTT

the perkiness of my BREASTS

are SCARCE


the next time these INSTAGRAM TROLLS

remind me of my OWN FLAWS

I will remind them

that my body is not your home


You are a guest


I’ll remind you that

Instead of laughing,


g

n

i

d

l

i

u

Focus on b

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


bottom of page