top of page
  • Writer's pictureBloomfield College Underground

'Nameless' by Patryk Sikorski

Nameless

I am the girl with woodburn hair who's been in and out of the darkest depths of her mind teenage joy on the brink of adulthood

seventh grade was so terrifying

Groups of girls whose main goal was to grate my skin

four years of names four years of threats four years of bluster

for years I had enough I never wanted to come back and I never came back

It wasn't my fault I liked school Sometimes parents are careless

I sat in my plastic home in my head I didn't know what to do with my life My mind was my biggest enemy

You are worthless You will never be smart You will never get out

It came to the point where I wanted to self-destruct my woodburn hair charred to charcoal the names became reality the pitless abyss in my stomach The sensation of forever falling


or at least that's what I told myself

one day things became different

one touch one hug one day kiss

a best friends love

a small ember of hope ignited by devotion a reason to wake up kept burning by us

I still feel it dim it's hard to keep it burning but I am determined to be

Strong Diligent Learning

I have come a long way since my castaway I can't wait for the day I radiate with flame

To be the girl with woodburn hair

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page