top of page
  • Writer's pictureBloomfield College Underground

'Being in my Brother's "Shadow"' by Bethany Logronio

Being in my Brother’s “Shadow”


Throughout my whole life, I have always been compared

or somewhat “lived” in my brother’s shadow.

I wish people can stop comparing me to him.

I wish I can stop being known as “so and so’s” sister.


In high school, my brother was top of his class,

straight A student,

always got honor roll.

I wasn’t the best student, but I

did get honor roll.

But that wasn’t good enough.


Sometimes my friends would leave me out of conversations.

I say hi when they walk through the front door, and that’s all I ever get

While everyone’s eating their food and talking to each other,

I’ll sit at the table

watching everyone laughing and having a wonderful time.

Listening to the sounds of my friends’ laughter, as my brother starts to tell stories about how Post Malone helped him through his first break-up

Or when a girl from our old high school marching band confessed her love for him


As I sit there and watch,

I try not to be upset

I try not to make it a big deal

I try not to say anything at all

because they’re my friends.


But…

I wonder if my friends like my brother more than me.

I wonder if they notice that I’m being pushed aside

Why don’t I get asked to hang out

or get asked how I’m doing?

Do my friends even like me?

Do they even notice I’m there?


I wish they knew I liked the same things

I wish they wouldn’t leave me out of conversations

I wish they payed attention to me


I’m tired of trying.

I give up

Not because I don’t care,

but because they don’t.




 


My name is Bethany Logronio. I’m a junior at Bloomfield College studying Psychology. I am a socially awkward person who likes to write blog posts and bake in her free time. I’m usually not a big fan of writing, however, that changed when I took Creative Writing last semester, with Paul LaTorre. Creative Writing changed my perspective. It gives me a medium for self-expression.
12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


bottom of page